Minister Pandor appoints new NACI Council members

The Chief Executive of Standard Bank, Mr Sim Tshabalala, the Executive Chair of Dimension Data Middle East and Africa, Dr Andile Ngcaba, and the Chief Executive Officer of the Human Sciences Research Council, Prof. Olive Shisana, are among the experts who make up the new the National Advisory Council on Innovation (NACI) Council.

The Minister of Science and Technology, Naledi Pandor, announced the appointment of nineteen new members of the NACI Council at a welcoming ceremony held in Pretoria today, 30 September 2014.

NACI is a statutory body established by the National Advisory Council on Innovation Act, 1997 (Act No. 55 of 1997), to advise the Minister of Science and Technology and Cabinet on all matters pertinent to innovation. NACI provides advice to the Minister on the role and contribution of science, mathematics, innovation and technology in South Africa’s social and economic development.

The NACI Council members are drawn from various sectors and are people of distinction, influence and expertise in their fields.

The Council will be headed by the Vice Chancellor and Principal of the University of Pretoria, Prof. Cheryl de la Rey. Prof. De la Rey was the Chief Executive Officer of the Council on Higher Education before serving as Deputy Vice Chancellor and Professor of Psychology at the University of Cape Town. She also served as the Executive Director of Research Promotion at the National Research Foundation.

Announcing the new members, the Minister said “I am pleased with the calibre of the Council members and the wealth of knowledge and expertise that they bring to this institution, which is a key priority for government. All appointees bring an impressive range of skills and experience from a diverse range of backgrounds. I am sure you will make a valuable contribution to the innovation of the country.”.

Minister Pandor further expressed her appreciation for the excellent work done by by the outgoing members, particularly Dr Steve Lennon,who chaired the Council for two terms.”I especially want to thank the outgoing Chairperson, Dr Steve Lennon, for his tireless commitment and dedication to the work of NACI.”

Members of the new NACI council:

    • Prof. Cheryl de la Rey (Chairperson)
    • Prof. Anton Eberhard
    • Adv. Louisa Zondo
    • Dr Azar Jammine
    • Dr Shadrack Moephuli
    • Dr Andile Ngcaba
    • Prof. Olive Shisana
    • Dr Sibusiso Sibisi
    • Dr Albert van Jaarsveld
    • Mr Dhesigen Naidoo
    • Mr Kevin Nassiep
    • Mr Garth StrachanMr Sim Tshabalala
    • Ms Clare Busetti
    • Ms Zanele Monnakgotla
    • Ms Nonkululeko Nyembezi-Heita
    • Prof. Roseanne Diab
    • Prof. Glenda Gray
    • Prof. Jennifer Ann Thomson


 Source: Department of Science and Technology Press release 30 September 2014